Unstable Terrain

Software development in the real world

GoodReader: PDF reader for iPhone

leave a comment »

I have a number of books in pdf form, but I often don’t have my laptop with me. I do, however, carry my iPhone around because I like to receive calls when my phone isn’t crashing. update: fixed in firmware v3.1.2

Turns out I’m not the first person to want to read PDFs on my iPhone, so I bought GoodReader ($1.99 at the time) to check it out.

Turns out it reads PDFs extremely well, but also text files, html files and images. Getting stuff onto it is a cinch: it has a mini-browser to download stuff off the net, and allows you to put files on it over wireless (or via your comms cable if you install a program on your desktop PC). You can even email them back out or download it from its local web server.

I put Programming in Scala onto my phone and I have to say that performance was very good (it helps that the web version of that PDF contains beaucoup intra-document links to assist navigation)

A nice feature is the ability to turn off auto-rotation of the screen (useful when I’m reading at a 45° angle on my bed).

Verdict: Well, it has a few icons that clash with the regular iPhone colour scheme, but overall, good value and great feature set. Two iThumbs up.

Written by Trent

October 19, 2009 at 9:00 am

Posted in Tools

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

